Per the people at Experian (one of the big three credit reporting agencies) the bankruptcy public record is deleted from the credit report either seven years or 10 years from the filing date of the bankruptcy, depending on the chapter you filed.
Chapter 13 bankruptcy is deleted seven years from the filing date. Chapter 7 bankruptcy is deleted 10 years from the filing date.
Accounts Included in Bankruptcy
Individual accounts included in both Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 bankruptcy can remain on the credit report for seven years.
If an account was delinquent when it was included in the bankruptcy, it will be deleted seven years from its original delinquency date, which is the date the account first became late and was never again brought current. Declaring bankruptcy does not alter the original delinquency date or extend the time the account remains on the credit report.
How to Check Your Credit Report
If you haven’t already, I encourage you to get a current copy of your credit report. You can obtain your free report from each of the three credit reporting companies by accessing annualcreditreport.com – under federal law you are entitled to a free and complete copy of your once every 12 months.